Received for Reviewing

This covers responses to submissions for review, i.e., artists, composers, agents or others who have sent me music / media for reviewing. I’m keeping this as separate list of reviews, just so that you are clear about the “mechanism”. With music that I have purchased, I’m usually quite outspoken. I treat “gifts” similar to a concert review, i.e., I may be a little more careful. I won’t deliver complacency judgments, though, but will rather refuse to review and/or return the media if I think that my comment(s) might be detrimental to the submitter (artist / composer).

Note that I don’t always supply a rating. For example, I don’t rate DVDs / video recordings. And I may choose not to rate if I don’t have sufficient “points of reference” in a given field / area. The absence of a rating has no implication on the quality / value of a given recording. My reviews & comments just represent my personal opinion, as usual.

If you consider sending me music for reviewing: note that I’m pretty “booked out”, i.e., I can’t guarantee responses in a given time, nor even that I will review unsolicited submissions (you may want to check with me first). Please also read “Concert Critiques & Media Reviews: A Note to Organizers, Agencies, & Artists” (also available in German: “Hinweise für Konzertagenturen, Ensembles und MusikerInnen“)


Media Received for Reviewing

Last update: 2021-06-28
 
New/UpdatedArtist(s)Composer(s)Title / WorkRatingFocus
2021-06-26Sabine WeyerMyaskovsky (1881 - 1950), Bacri (*1961)Piano Sonatas (CD, 2020)★★★★Composers, Works, Artist
2021-04-24Lina Tur Bonet, Aurelia VişovanBeethoven, Ludwig van (1770- 1827)Violin Sonatas No.9 (Kreutzer) & No.10 (The Cockcrow) (CD, 2020)★★★★★Performance, Artists
2021-04-21Sebastian Bohren, Igor Karško / Camerata ZürichShostakovich, Dmitri (1906 - 1975)Violin Sonata, op.134, arr. Tsinman / Pushkarev (Download, 2018)★★★★½Performance, Arrangement
2021-02-04Anastasia Kobekina, Vladimir KobekinKobekin, Vladimir (*1947)Works for cello / cello & piano (CD, 2016)Composer, Works
2020-08-21Silke Aichhorn(various)Miniaturen 4: compositions and transcriptions for harp (CD, 2020)Artist, Works
2020-01-18Ensemble Resonanz, HamburgDessner, Bryce (*1976)Aheym, Tenebre, Skrik Trio, Lachrymae (CD, 2019)★★★★Artists, Composer
2019-07-31Trio OreadeMozart, Wolfgang Amadeus (1756 - 1791)Divertimento in E♭ major, K.563; String Trio in G, K.562e (CD, 2019)★★★Artists
2019-12-05Oxana ShevchenkoStravinsky, Igor (1882 - 1971)Complete Music for Solo Piano (CD, 2018)★★★★½Performance, Artist
2018-07-01Christian ErnyLourié, Arthur (1892 - 1966)Piano works (CD, 2018)★★★½Composer, Artist
2018-06-28Nareh Arghamanyan, Aurélien Pascal, Howard Griffiths, MCODanzi, Franz (1763 - 1826)Piano Concerto in E♭, Cello Concerto in E minor, Overture in D (CD, 2018)★★★★Artists
2017-10-29Christian Spuck, Fabio Luisi, Philharmonia, Ballet & Choir of Zurich OperaVerdi, Giuseppe (1813 - 1901)Messa da Requiem, Ballet (video/DVD, Zurich Opera, live, 2016)Performance, Artists
2017-08-07Riccardo Chailly, Lucerne Festival OrchestraMahler, Gustav (1860 - 1911)Symphony No.8 in E♭ major (video/BD, Lucerne, KKL, live, 2016)Performance, Artists
2015-03-05(various)Waller, Michael Vincent (*1985)The South Shore (2 CDs, 2015)Composer, Works

If you have an opinion on this posting / page, please rate it (1 = dislike, 5 = best)

Average rating: 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

Be the first to rate.

Please share as you see fit:

AboutImpressum, LegalSite Policy | TestimonialsAcknowledgementsBlog Timeline
Typography, ConventionsWordPress Setup | Resources, ToolsPictures, Methods

1 thought on “Media Received for Reviewing”

Leave a reply—comments are welcome!

Exit mobile version